Seven Days of Sewing: The Week that Never Was

Standard

elephant

Elephant in the room… Seven Days of Sewing, the week that never was.

Anyone who pays much attention to my chatter will know that in my last blog post I said that I would dedicate seven days to rounding up half-finished sewing projects, then offered seven days of posts showing how fantastic it went. That’s what I said I’d do. Did I manage it? No. It was, by all accounts, a fail of epic proportions. I managed to write a blog on the very first day and then all went quiet on the blogging front.

How embarrassing! I publicly set myself a challenge, jumped the first hurdle (day one!) and then landed squarely on my face. Ouch! Without sounding like a Craig David song, I had a fairly valid reason on each of day for not making it round to writing a post but that doesn’t mean that I haven’t felt the nagging guilt/disappointment of failure.

Failure is an integral part on the way to success and self realization. Whenever you step outside your comfort zone and try something new, failure becomes inevitable

So how do we cope with failures? I could beat myself up about it and make myself feel even more pants. But would that have worked? And actually, the more I thought about it, I realised that in the same week I’d had lots of successes. Why focus on the one thing that didn’t go 100% to plan but not recognise the things that worked out just dandy? Understanding failures is important but, maybe sometimes we have to just give ourselves some credit and recognise the things that make us fan-bloody-tastic.

So instead of a long post about failure, here’s my list of things that went just fine that Sewing Week that never was…

  1. I managed to actually sew 5/7 days and finished off five previously unfinished projects.
  2. I got to spend time with the loving boyfriend, family and friends  (part of the reason I didn’t complete the blog posts was choosing to switch the laptop off and spend time with others)
  3. I had a last minute post-graduate university interview and actually got a place!
  4. I managed to do all this whilst also getting myself out of bed in the morning, working long hours and keeping a smile on my face.

Now there probably other little successes in my week, things that you think “phew, good job me!” on a day-to-day basis, but it was 3 weeks ago and my memories not that good but I’m still pretty happy with just those four. Life is about keeping things in perspective and sometimes we need to give ourselves a little helping hand in doing that. It’s easy to focus on the negatives and the things we’ve done wrong but to tell yourself “No, it’s ok” and “your doing fine” sometimes doesn’t come so easy.

Anyway, apologies for the lack of pictures or sewing news today but but now I’m back on the blogging wagon with lots of exciting new projects and catching up to do so till next time…

Elle x

Leave a Reply

